Totally beginner looking for a teaching game

Hi, I read the rules and basics principles on the learning section on this site (+ watch some videos) but I am completely lost when playing a game (with IA for the moment) ; I have no idea where to play (just know the principles to play on the 3rd or 4th lines at the beginning). I would greatly appreciate to have a teaching game to help me learning the basics :slight_smile:
Thanks for your help !
Laurent

2 Likes

Hi Laurent

Your current predicament reminds me a lot of when I started playing Go.

I’ve been writing a series of 19X19 FOR BEGINNERS articles with readers like you in mind - trying to break down the various concepts, tactics, and general strategies of the game into something a beginner can understand.

I know it’s a lot of reading, but take your time. There are days/weeks of reading here, so please digest these articles at your own pace - and hopefully these will help you progress through you first 100 games faster:

Introduction: Making Sense of Go

Part 1: Sente and Gote

Part 2: Settling Your Stones

Part 3: Playing a Balanced Opening

Part 4: Joseki Basics

Part 5: The Stages of the Game

Part 6: Shape

Good luck!

1 Like

Thanks very much ! I’m looking forward to reading it :slight_smile:

1 Like

Happy to play a correspondence game and answer questions as we go any time, just send me a challenge if correspondence is ok. Live might be doable too, but not easy to find a suitable time for me.

I feel you!
When I started, I didn’t have either.

My personal experience is that a simple app could help a lot.
On my android smartphone I installed an app called “Go free” by developer “AI Factory Limited”.
Now they changed the app name to simply “Go”.
I bet you can find some other similar app, if you don’t have android.