Turn off chat. How?

Tired of getting bullshit messages from my opponents about how slow I am. I’m a beginner, and I know pretty much nothing about the game.

How do I turn off the chat so I don’t see messages from anyone ever?

I’m tired of these rude ass players.

7 Likes

The moderators are 100% behind you! This behaviour is not acceptable here.

Please report such users (either by clicking on their name and clicking report, or by opening the right hand side menu from a game board and clicking call a moderator) and we will politely tell them to shut up, or take away their chat privileges if they have already been warned previously.

If you really don’t want to see game chat at all, especially during play, from the same right hand side game menu, you could try activating Zen mode. (Though please if you do notice offensive language do report it so we can reprimand these users)

11 Likes

I just lost a game because I couldn’t concentrate. I was completely winning, but zen mode distracted me. It doesn’t tell me how many byo yomi periods I have. Nor does it tell who is who.

Zen mode is worthless for turning off chat because it takes away all the important information from me and distracts me. I just want the the option to turn off chat, not zen mode.

This site pisses me off. Take a lesson from lichess.org.

Respectfully, we have one developer and the rest of the site is maintained by volunteers. We take a great deal of inspiration from lichess, however we are different sites in different situations. The ability to hide game chat does not currently exist. Maybe it could, maybe it should… But right now it doesn’t. I gave you the best available workarounds we have.

At the end of the day our community, despite your experiences here, is one of the best things about this server. If you want silence in your games, go play on literally any other server, I’ve never seen anyone send an in game message on any other server except KGS.

10 Likes