Tutorial Confusion for New Players

hello,
after spending the last few days watching go matches on youtube, i decided to look further into the game. this website looked really simple to get setup with and there is actually an active community. after having went thru the tutorial, i must say i am still very confused. the tutorial was not written in a way to help you understand anything. i had to look up what the term, ‘eye’, meant so i knew what it was asking me to do. in fact, i wish there was a glossary for all the terms used in this game so i can understand it better. to be honest, the only reason i made it thru the tutorial was because i simply started clicking intersections not knowing why i failed or passed the test. i will keep looking for resources on the game so i can better understand why placement selections are so important.

in the meantime, i will just start playing and try to learn. if you are an absolute beginner, like myself, please feel free to invite me to a game.

thanks

10 Likes

Welcome!

Everyone’s friend for terms, info and all the useful stuff is Sensei’s Library.

If you search the forum for beginner stuff, there are also some cool threads. I won’t send you to specific ones, because there’s lots of things to go through, and it’s better to see what catches your eye. :slight_smile:

It also helps to watch go matches with commentary, so you get a sense of why people played specific moves. It sounds like a narrative sometimes, and these are the most fun.

5 Likes

thank you Gia! i love watching the matches and found some with commentary. :slightly_smiling_face:

going to read over that library link you provided as well. that looks perfect!

2 Likes

I watched this yesterday. The commentary makes it easy to understand how the whole thing unfolded and what the “conversation” between the players was.

__