Underscore_Underscore vs. acabodeempezar

Hello everyone! I’m kinda new to this game and looking to improve. I would like to know what things I could/should do better or things I don’t do at all that I don’t do.

Thanks in advance. :slight_smile:

3 Likes

Well, this should keep you busy for a while. :grinning:

2 Likes

Hi, at your level, I would recommend to just play a lot: you first need to get a bit of a feel for the game before any real advice will start to make a lot of sense. Nevertheless here are some of the things that you could work on based on the game you played.

• Atari: make sure your stones can’t be captured immediately on the next move. Be very careful with any group of stones that has only two liberties. There’s only one way to learn to recognise stones in atari, and that’s by practicing a lot, so once again: play a lot of games. It probably helps to focus on the 9x9 board, where fighting is more important than on 13x13.

• Your first two moves are great: they’re placed in the corners, while your opponent made the mistake of playing in the centre and then at the side. It’s easier to make territory in the corner, than on the sides, and easier on the sides than in the centre (this is especially true on 19x19, but is also good advice for 13x13). So, when your opponent did not try to play in the other two corners, I’d suggest you put a stone there for yourself before worrying about whatever white is doing.

• Your third move looks greedy: white gets between your stones, and you attach to it as if you’re trying to kill it. Sadly (or gladly, if the roles are reversed) Go doesn’t work like that. You’ll have to learn that your opponent is entitled to their own territory. If they play on the side in between your stones? No big deal, just take territory elsewhere! The whole left side of the board is still empty, why not make territory there?