Ways to build life in opponent-dominated areas...?

Move 52 of this, I felt pretty hopeless (I played black). Not that I didn’t have any territory, but I couldn’t really see any way of reliably gaining a foothold in the bottom half of the board. can anyone help ,e with strategy?

Thanks

I was just watching your game. :slight_smile:

I have no experience to give advice (never played on 13x13 against human), but I think that your problems with the lower half of the board started since move 30.

Maybe a 3-3 invasion to catch a corner?
http://senseis.xmp.net/?33PointInvasion

I look forward for answers by experienced players.

I probably don’t have the best answers, but I think you’ve got to think about the whole board much earlier. I put a review up with some things that may point that out.

If you had a chance to invade late, move 52 pretty much took it away, but I think the problems began very early.

Invading by Move 52 is indeed hopeless. Even the best pro player cant help u if W defends perfectly.

Answer: Invade earlier.

Nick Sibiky’s sabbaki lecture is pretty good. I’ll need to watch it again though, I can’t remember what it said XD.

1 Like

Do you have a link? Couldn’t find that lecture. I like his lectures a lot though so I’d like to check that one.

To sum up:
SHOULD HAVE INVADED EARLIER

I thought people might say this, thanks for introducing me to Nick Sibicky, hadn’t found him before.

1 Like

As an afterthought, @lysnew, thank you so much for the senses library link, it was very useful!

1 Like

9 times out of 10, the best way to live inside an opponent dominated area is to never let such a large area to begin with. XD Still, I concede that’s not really advice, and “invade earlier” has already been broached, so I’ll try to help.