What is the real limit of being self-taught?

First of all, my question is addressed to experienced players, professionals and coaches, in general, to everyone who has experience in Go and is serious about Go. But this does not mean that everyone cannot speak out here.

So, let’s say there is adult person who started playing Go. This person learned the rules and basic principles of the game, but did not go further in theoretical training. This person does not read textbooks, tutorials, or any specialized literature, does not watch educational videos, does not solve problems, and does not use the services of coaches or more experienced players. This person is simply playing, trying to independently, without the help of computer programs, analyze the games played and extract gaming experience from them, nothing more. Let’s say this person plays 1-3 games a week, depending on his other activities.
I think there are quite a lot of such players, Go lovers.

Now, actually, the questions…

With this training regimen described above, what level of play will such a player reach, say, in 10 years? At what level do such players most often stop? At what level will he need to study theory or hire a coach to further advance?

I understand that there are capable players, naturally gifted, talented, even geniuses. My question is not about such players, but about ordinary, average amateurs.

If anyone has statistics on my questions, I would be grateful for sharing. I also thank everyone in advance for their substantive answers.

2 Likes

10 games / day not allowed?

1 Like

Frankly speaking, I can’t imagine how an adult who is not professionally involved in Go can play 10 games a day… :face_with_monocle:

1 Like

I seen A LOT accounts like that and played like that in the past myself, while watching anime at the same time

2 Likes

ACTUALLY using time on review of your own lost games, but NOT using AI in 2024 is a very strange goal.

1 Like