What time settings can I use for my 19x19 live games?

I’m new to go. But I have been around the past three months on this website playing live 9x9 games.

What are the rules concerning time restrictions in a ‘regular’/‘normal’ go game (19x19)?
I have tried to search for an answer quickly online, but couldn’t find anything on time limitations. On the English Wikipedia page it said that a game of go ends if none of both players want to play another move (meaning no time restrictions?).

When I look at the open challenges for live 19x19 games on this website, I usually see games with something like 15 minutes main time - the most I have seen was 30 minutes main time. I find this strange, because I have the idea that go games usually take a couple of hours.

From what I know you are quite right. Proffesional games usually take several hours. I believe in average the time clock is somwhere about 120min for each player with some overtime (when main limit is exceeded the player still has several seconds for each move). Although there are also blitz tournaments as well as games spreading for more days.

The games you see here (the short ones) are educational. many people think it is better to play many games quickly to learn your obvous mistakes and hone your style then play one weak game for a long time. Also sometimes you just dont have the time…

Also below the quick games there are usually several challenges for correspondence games which take several days and one usually makes only a few moves per day.

However, if you want to play a long game of 19x19 And there is none available just crate your own a someone will probably join you :slight_smile: Choose whatever suits you…

1 Like

You can maybe experiment and see how long you wait for games. I like long games, but at 25-30 min main time and 5x30 byo-yumi, I rarely wait for more than a minute before I get a challenge accepted, and it’s a comfortable pace for me.