What to do when accused of sandbagging?

Hi everyone, so I’ve just been accused of being sandbaggin today!

Please see game: https://online-go.com/game/21517357

I won the game, and around the end my opponent started with “I knew I shouldn’t have played you…” I’ve been playing Go for almost 15 years now, on and off, never taking it super seriously but for fun. For instance I’ve only played 170 game in the last two and a half years, is that a lot? I don’t know, I just play for fun. And I’m still on the single digit kyu level, reaching 2k at my very best playing in this server correspondance games (when I can think and analyse the game for days!). I’ve only very recently started to play almost daily live games, and found it to be much harder for me but practice makes perfect.

Anyway, what to do? How do you react against people like this, who blame others when they fail instead of learning from their mistakes? I’m sure we’ve all have games that went terribly, I sure do. But I don’t blame my opponent, I try and learn from it.

By the way on a side note, this person is a site supporter and I noticed that the AI review also allows me (who I’m not) to review the game fully. Maybe this shouldn’t be the case?

Thank you.

Completely personal opinion, but I do not think there is a good reaction… We all deal with losses our own way, and there is no magic argument to convince people otherwise. So I guess for me personally just something along the lines “I am not, lose plenty games myself, I got lucky this time, you might have the upper hand in some next game.” And/or just move on… What more is there to say, don’t let it get to you, or maybe even take it as a compliment :slight_smile:

This is intentional. We already have the data, it is no extra strain on the servers, so we (well anoek mostly :wink:) figured it is only nice and fair (and potentially helpful) to show the review to both when we already have it.

7 Likes