What to do when facing offensive language?

Hi,

I’m new to OGS and it is the only Go server I’m using at the moment.

I played my first blitz game ever and received offensive language in the chat section after my win.

Is there a way to report that kind of behaviour or is this tolerated here and I just have to live with it ? I tried to find and answer but I didn’t. I initially thought “Call moderator” button was for that, but my gut feeling is that it’s more for in-game help. Am I wrong ?

Thank you for reading me.

Michaël

Yes, it is also for such cases.

1 Like

It’s this game apparently: https://online-go.com/game/8588447 so people can know which opponent to avoid.

1 Like

Thank you, next time I’ll use the button.

1 Like

Oh! I just found another button. When I click on the user, I have “Report” button. It feels appropriate.

3 Likes

If they are swearing they are too gobsmacked to accept the reality that they just lost to someone who they deemed so small, insignificant, pathetic and weak. In this case it is best to calmly collect the stones from the goban and present the bowl of black stones to your opponent. Slowly, reach out from the bowl and place 9 stones onto the star points (or a stone on each star point for smaller boards) and obviously, with great composure and humility, ask him to play a handicapped game.

Don’t try this at home, obviously. :wink: @trohde said it all, report him!

2 Likes

We (your lovely moderators) may not be able to respond right away, but we take the reports seriously and will get to them when we’re able.

4 Likes

Trohde: Thank you for the link. I was genuinely shocked at the language, so out of character in my experience with the OGS culture and the genial courtesy of its players. I do have a question: Setting aside this particular incident, are there standards of conduct for OGS players which, if violated, may well result in expulsion?

1 Like

Please refer to the Terms Of Service —> Official Full Version —> Code of conduct