Which programming language should I use for developing an AI that plays Go?

Hello, I love to play Go and I’m interested in developing an AI program that plays the game. I’m of course aware that there are already such programs, such as AlphaGo and AlphGo Zero, but I want to experience building it from scratch. I want to develop a program like AlphaGo Zero in the sense that it will be self-taught and won’t rely on learning from games played by humans.

The thing is, I have zero skills in programming. I want to start learning it, but I don’t even know which languages are best suited for this task. I’ve read that Python is generally better than Java for machine learning, but that’s all I know.

Any kind of help will be appreciated. Thanks :slightly_smiling_face:

Edit: Wow, thanks a lot for all the comprehensive and professional answers! These are plenty of advices and resources, and I’ll start checking them immediately.

6 Likes

Python is generally the language that’s used because it has a lot of great libraries for machine learning, and it’s definitely more friendly for beginners than Java.

I once followed a couple of machine learning tutorials on YouTube about creating a handwriting recogniser, which is basically the standard ‘first project’ in machine learning. I’d recommend starting with something like that before creating a Go AI, since I think handwriting is a bit more forgiving.

5 Likes

This is my recommendation for a beginner. Partly because this book uses Python which will guide you through exactly what you want

In fact they use a hand writing example as @Vsotvep suggests too

7 Likes

Here’s the guy that made the tutorials I watched, it seems he made a new series that’s a bit more up to date:

Here’s the old series that I followed: