Who sandbags the sandbagger?

Recently, I started playing on WBaduk. I made a new account and everything, however, I had to do it with a different email and username than I usually do.

Turns out, that I had created an account very long ago, but never used it (and Wbaduk’s password recovery is entirely non-functional). After a painstaking number of guesses, I was able to break into my old account, but it is rated several stones below my current rank.

Now, for whatever reason, I have an emotional attachment to this username, so I decided to rank it up and start using that account. So far so good, except I’m gettting a run for my money: none of the games have been easy, and I even lost one.

I’ve heard that Tygem and Wbaduk are rife with sandbaggers. I mean, I’m one to talk right!?, glass houses and all. But I’m genuinely curious if this is what I am encountering, or if those players are just that good. I’m getting a bit scared :fearful:

Some of you guys have had experience in those foreign battlefields. What is your opinion on this?

I’m also making a Poll

What is the toughest Go server in town?
  • OGS (Correspondence)
  • OGS (Live)
  • Dragon Go Server
  • KGS
  • Pandanet (IGS)
  • Tygem
  • WBaduk
  • Fox
  • Other (explain in the comments)

0 voters

I voted ogs (correspondence) because I hardly go beyond 4k. But I click almost without thinking so let’s say my vote doesn’t count :sweat_smile:. I could be dan anywhere else I think. Maybe except dgs because it has only correspondence. I added.
I also put pandanet because I played a couple of games there a year ago and had lost to a 2k. But I actually play almost only on OGS.

2 Likes

I voted Fox and Tygem but let me elaborate a bit.

I didn’t encounter many sandbaggers on OGS but I heard it’s worse at DDK level.

There are not many sandbaggers on KGS either, but when you haven’t played for a long time, your rank becomes very volatile hence may not reflect your real level anymore.