Why players don't try to occupy opponent's territory with living group of stones at the end of a game?

Hi ! I’m a very beginner in Go and I have a question about scoring.
Let’s consider this very basic example :

In my understanding, we have to count all intersections in white’s territory and all intersections in black’s territory to calculate the score of this game.
Obviously, black wins here. However, what if white tries to make a living group of stones in black territory (with at least two eyes) ? In that way, white could steal some points from black… How do you explain that the game ends in that position, without white trying to push a little bit more ?

5 Likes

Yes, both players could continue by trying to live inside their opponent’s territory.
In games between novices, I would even encourage them to try, especially when the area inside is quite wide, like in your example.

But at higher levels of play, experienced players inuitively “know” when such attempts are a futile waste of time for both players, so they tend to refrain from doing this.

At even higher levels of play, players would even be justified to report their opponent for unjustified stalling of the end of the game with hopeless moves inside secure territories.

10 Likes

Hello gennan, thank you for your reply, you’ve just confirmed my intuition that such attempts would be hopeless. However, if I try to think further, here is my logic: let’s say white plays in black’s territory and black decides to respond, preventing white to make a living group of stones. Even if white doesn’t succeed to make such a group of stones, black would spend his own stones in his territory to defend it, so he would lose points, right ? So would you say that the best response for black is to counter-attack in white’s territory ? Thank you again.

3 Likes