Would anyone like to teach me to play?

Hi. I’m a newbie who has been trying to learn to play go for a while, but I don’t understand nearly enough to play a real game and I keep getting more and more confused as to what basic principles like territory, eyes, life and death mean, and I can’t keep score at all.

I’ve (sort of) done the “Learn to Play Go” and “Lessons for Beginners” stuff on OGS, I’ve read some of the beginner stuff on Sensei’s Library, and I’ve watched many, many Youtube videos, but I’m still totally lost.

Any help would be very greatly appreciated.

4 Likes

I’ve been working on a set of articles that tries to break down the complexity of the 19x19 game for beginners. It’s a lot of reading, but hopefully this will mesh with your other learning resources. I would recommend reading these articles one at a time, and practicing using those skills or perceptual abilities in your games before moving on to the next one. Enjoy:

Introduction: Making Sense of Go

Part 1: Sente and Gote

Part 2: Settling Your Stones

Part 3: Playing a Balanced Opening

Part 4: Joseki Basics

Part 5: The Stages of the Game

Part 6: Shape

Also, I’d be willing to sit down with a video chat and walk you through some of these concepts. Ping me and we can see if our time zones / available free times overlap. Cheers.

2 Likes

Cool. Thank you.

Most of that is probably way over my head right now, but I’ll work my way up to it.

reads introduction

Lmao! It really does feel like getting endlessly whipped at Tron lightcycles.

1 Like

Do you know the solution to
https://goproblems.com/problems/169?name=recommended
?

Play games with humans instead of bots.
Ask them questions.
Or a review of the game.
Or a teaching game request here on the forums.

2 Likes

I got it right, but it was just a lucky guess. I knew I should click inside somewhere.

I don’t quite know what it means to “kill.” I’ve read about it, and sometimes I think I get it… and then I find out that I really don’t.