[ANSWERED ✅] When I'm convinced I can't win a game, do I pass or resign or keep on playing?

Hi all — I’m a bit uncertain about what to do when I’m convinced I can’t win a game (I guess you could call it etiquette). For example, look at this game: Tournament Game: Total Novice Tournament (TNT) - 9x9 - Dec 2022 (97285) R:1 (nathirl vs flat_chocolate_mountain). Do I resign and offer my congratulations, pass, or continue playing until the bitter end (I’m pretty sure it’s not this one, but let me double check anyway)? Thanks in advance!

Edit: My logic tells me to just resign and offer congratulations.

5 Likes

Well, usually it’s not good to ask for advice about an ongoing game, but in this case it seems to be about just finishing a game that is almost over and this seems to be just an etiquette question.

It’s always possible to resign at a point when you feel that a game has become hopeless. However, in this particular case, since you’ve already reached a point where the game could be scored, you could also instead just pass and score the game.

Playing on only makes sense if you feel that you have a shot at turning the game around. If you feel that that’s not possible, then I think you’ve already reached the end.

9 Likes

Thanks @yebellz. Yes, indeed not asking for advice on the game, just on how to conclude. I’m resigning. Thanks.

Edit: game now concluded.

6 Likes

I completely agree with @yebellz ’ words.

But I’d like to add emphasis to this particular sentence:

In this case, you can resign, but passing is also completely acceptable and perfectly good etiquette.

An argument in favour of passing rather than resigning:

Summary