Beginner Kyu 25

Hello, im really new in the game and searching for someone who can tell me some openings or strategy to get better in the game.
Atm im playing on a 9*9 board,

It sounds like you’re doing everything right for where you’re at in the game. A smaller board will help you focus on shapes and making life, which are the first building blocks of strength in the game of go.

Sadly, the only real way to get better is to play and play and play. “Lose your first 100 games as fast as you can.”

with regard to openings, I admit, I haven’t played 9x9 since i was in high school. I accidentally signed up for a 9x9 tourney here recently, and I’m losing it spectacularly, so I’m probably not one to give solid advice about that particular board type, but generally you can just begin the game aggressively.

Yeah, I’m pretty bad at 9x9 as well, though xhu98 is doing a series about the 9x9 board, so hopefully I can pick up a few things. :smile:

The adage “Lose your first 50 (or 100, depending on whom you ask) games as fast as possible” is definitely a good one. That will get you to around 20k, I think, though I’d welcome correction on that point from someone who knows better.

Don’t be scared of larger boards; I think that 13x13 is very nice in that it has a much more 19x19 feel to it than 9x9 does, but still allows you to see the results of your moves much more quickly than on 19x19. Still, as with many things in life, it’s a balance between being comfortable and trying new things. You know yourself better than I, so you’ll be the best judge on what board sizes you want to play on.

And finally, we play go because it’s enjoyable. Keep that in mind. As with the above, you know what you find enjoyable about go.

i want to learn the real go with 1919 but i think it´s so large for the beginning so i play 99 instead atm.

1 Like