Can someone review this game for me

Hello there :smiley:

I’m a beginner (only started playing around August of this year), and so far I have had a lot of fun with this game. The rules are still not fully clear to me, but I am getting somewhat better (I understand them better now than in August when I first started - everything was alien to me - still is…lol).

Anyway, in October, I decided to play my first game of Go on a 13x13 board, so I sent out a correspondence and was soon paired up with an opponent. Sadly, I lost. :joy: My opponent chose an opening that completely confused me (can someone, whilst reviewing my game, tell me whether it is a common opening?).

That’s enough chitchat for now. Here is the game —> https://online-go.com/game/14531514

Thank you in advance for anyone willing to review a beginner’s game! I appreciate it very much. :blush:

In brief, when you move away from 9x9 to bigger boards, you learn that territory is made in the corners and sides before (and possible more) than the centre, and that 4th line stones, including the 4-4 point don’t secure anything.

In your game, you can see you making a massive claim on the bottom using 4th line stones (and the left side) unaware that this whole area is not secure.

Both players made very 9x9-like openings, quite centre-focussed.

What you don’t realise is that in 9x9, the centre is basically just part of the sides and the corner, so it “works”.

In bigger boards, you need to learn “secure corners first, then sides, then centre”. In 13x13, it’s still a bit blury because the centre is still very close to the sides, but it does apply. In 19x19, shooting for the centre first is the way to lose.

No, it was a verty 9x9-style opening. As a result, you were ahead into the middle of the game.

It was only your opponent’s experience at killing things, and your lack of experience in how to defend against that, which turned the game for your opponent.

2 Likes

Like @GreenAsJade said, check that: