Complete beginner looking for strong guidance (Sensei)!

Hey everyone!

After playing a couple of games against real life players (friends) that have also just started out I got hooked. I am currently doing tsumego exercises and have decided to also play Go online due to the lack of players in my area.

However playing go against people that do know what they are doing is very intimidating and I find myself being stuck and outsmarted very fast without knowing WHY this happened… Which is why I would really like a very experienced player to perhaps help me by playing some tutoring games in which we can discuss the games live as they progress(?).

I would be very grateful to have a very strong amateur (dan would be the term?) teach me a thing or two about this magnificent game! Because right now it seems like a mountain I am not able to even set one foot on, let alone start my climb :smile:

Regards,

Kevin (from Holland)

I would check out this thread for starters.

2 Likes

I already read that topic, and some others. But I find that much of the concepts really onlyt start to truly make sense when I actually play!

Which is why some tutoring games with (live) feedback would be very much appreciated. I know all of the basics: the rules, ‘good’ shapes (good is a loose term heh) and bad ones, influence vs direct territory, life and death, seki, sente etc.

However while I know the concepts in theory this doesn’t translate into playing an actual game :smile:

Could you post a game that you played recently here and ask for a review? Optimally a game against someone near your level, but which you are confused about.

1 Like

Currently playing some games, will post a link once im finished!

Here’s a game I just finished, I resigned after a big mistake:

Here is another 13x13 game against that same opponent that I won (not sure why he kept trying to play for so long, it was clear to me the match was over long before):