Deliberate delay in correspondence

I am relatively new to Go, started a couple of months ago and very fresh to this platform. Perhaps its my luck but 3 correspondence games I started are now in lingo one after the other. The game starts fine with both of us doing 5-6 moves a day average, but as soon as I get visible advantage the response drops to 1 move every 4-5 days. I cannot help but feel that this is because the opponent does not want a defeat on his/her record. It is mighty dishonorable for any sport let alone Go!. Such timing ofcourse means they can stretch the game to over a year easily.

This is a bad starting experience for me and I hope that the platform would have some way to stop such exploitation. Perhaps an option to report such behavior and if its a pattern on this player then strike him out.

3 Likes

You can Call a moderator in a game (pop up menu on the right).
But it might be within the rules.

Welcome to Go and this site! I’m sure you’ll have a lot of fun with the game and this server.

Sometimes, it might be possible that a player is deliberately playing slower to frustrate their opponent when they are in a losing situation. However, it is also possible that someone has slowed down simply because they have suddenly become more busy with other things in life, and it is difficult to distinguish between these two cases. It is within a player’s right to use their time how they see fit, and one might want to spend more time thinking about a more difficult situation. If you want to ensure that a game moves at a faster pace, I would recommend that you seek games with faster time controls.

However, as already mentioned, if you believe that a player is only deliberately wasting time or delaying, you can report it to the moderators to investigate and deal with.

8 Likes