Did anyone here start learning in their 40s, and how high have you gotten?

I understand that learning Go when you’re younger is optimal, but those of us who started in our 40s can’t really change that.

So I’m curious:

1. Did any of you start to learn Go in your 40s?
  2. How high have you gotten in rank? (specify server/association for that rank)
  3. How long did it take you to reach that rank?
  4. And how focused have you been (or were you) on learning & improving?

I realize that most stories will be complicated (I stopped learning for 2 years, etc.), and anecdotal data isn’t real data, but I’m still curious!

Edit: I’m strictly looking for info about people who started in their 40s, not info on the factors of learning (time spent, how focused/obsessed you are), nor anything about how high it’s possible to get at any age. Just info on people who started in their 40s.

8 Likes

To start us out: I started learning 2 years ago (at the age of 44), stopped after about 4 months, started learning again last month, and am now at 13k on OGS at the age of 46. During the few months I’ve studied, I’ve been very focused on learning and improving.

7 Likes

I started at 37 (close enough to 40?), just celebrated my one year anniversary at the very end of October this year (now I’m 38), am 13K on OGS, and only played on the 9x9. I spent the first half of the year playing Correspondence games and the second half playing 10s/turn Blitz games. I dabbled in Tsumego (really not worth mentioning as a learning source) and spent 4 months playing study games with new players.

I invested a decent amount of time into learning Japanese and Chinese rules. I also learned New Zealand and Tromp Taylor, but they differ so little from Chinese it isn’t really worth mentioning. I’ve got a firm grasp on AGA as well. Most of my experience comes directly from playing games and playing heavily with variations (working on my “reading” skill) in the Correspondence games.