Help with OGS's AI for newbies

Hi! This might be a silly request but…

I’ve just become a site supporter but I think I’m too much of a newbie to really take advantage of the AI analysis…
So I would like to kindly ask for anyone to review any game with “full AI analysis” with the mentality of teaching newcomers how to review games using OGS’s AI further than “move X made me loose 80% winrate”
I think it would help me and any other newbie to review more often (and maybe even attract supporters? :sweat_smile:)

Thanks for any possible help!!

PS- I can suggest some game of mine, but I really don’t mind if it’s any other
PS1- I’m aware of the limitations of non-explainable AI’s, I’m just looking for pointers about the available tools :wink:

6 Likes

I’m no expert but my quick tips are:
Use the score change graph and not the win rate - it’s much easier to see how much effect a move had on score prediction rather than trying to interpret the win rate swinging from +99.9 to -99.9 and back!

Where you see AI persistently suggesting the same move or pair of moves then consider why you didn’t notice that that was an important part of the board to play on at that point. E.g. in your linked game, where you are ahead AI constantly wants to play p7 or q6 so we can conclude that that area was the biggest for each player to play in but both ignored it for ages. Why? What were you thinking about at the time? Can you ask yourself if something else is bigger/more important in future?

In the actual game you secured that p7 area so what went wrong elsewhere? Look through what moves the AI thought were better than moves you chose in the area you lost out in (not sure if that makes sense)

Hope helpful - but take it with a pinch of salt as I’m not an ai analysis expert (or Go expert for that matter!)

5 Likes

I usually look for 2 things in AI reviews (although I admit I don’t and can’t utilize them to their full potential):