How is the game scored

I am a beginner. I just had a game where I was surrounding more territory and there were no captures but I lost. Also the numbers it said were not what I counted. Is there an addition for the player who goes second?
I understand dead tiles are counted for the opponent, surrounded territory is counted, and captured tiles are counted. What I’m asking precisely IS there some other numbers being added or is that it? Why do the numbers not match the territory (with captures and dead tiles accounted for) when i count it? I’ve searched the forum, and wikipedea but I can’t find an answer to this question.

1 Like

Because it’s an advantage to play first, white get an amount of points, usually 7.5, called the komi which is added to it’s score.

4 Likes

This was the game… after writing I noticed a ? over the scores which gave more detail. The komi was 3.5 because it’s a smaller board, and I had 1 prisoner. What I still don’t understand is why he got 1 point handicap when he is 19k and i am 21k

1 Like

The handicap 1 is that white only got 3.5 Komi instead of 5.5. I guess the handicap was “automatic” and you were +/- 1 rank apart at the start of the hand.
In other words if the handicap were 0 you would have lost by 2.5 points.

(Edit: it’s not very clear what handicap means in the points display)

3 Likes

is the komi different on 9x9 , 13x13 and 19x19?

1 Like

I think there have been extensive discussions about this like here

In short Komi is the same for all these board sizes but handicap is different

3 Likes

That’s a point of debate, but typically not more than a point. In territory scoring rulesets (Japanese, for example), komi is typically 6.5 on 19x19, and 5.5 or 6.5 on 9x9. The first move conveys more advantage on a smaller board, but as there are fewer points available, each komi point is also worth proportionally more, so it’s basically a wash.

3 Likes

Maybe this tutorial can help you.

1 Like