How well does Handicap apply to 9x9?

Not that long ago I was challenged to a 9x9 game by a new person on the site and surprised to find myself facing a handicap. (Obviously, I should have read the challenge better!).

At the time I thought “do people really play 9x9 with handicap?”.

This topic has come up again in a recent thread about handicaps and TPK play, where I guess 9x9 is the most common size.

Do people really use handicap much in 9x9 play?

Do we expect 1 stone of handicap on a 9x9 board to equal one stone of rank?

2 Likes

Yes and no. I agree with your implied point. I doubt that handicapping makes much sense in 9x9, generally speaking, and we certainly have no reliable way to gauge its effect (and as I have stated many times, I believe that komi and handicap stones are both really sliding scales in their significance, because a strong player can make more use of them than a weak player).

On the other hand, handicap stones may be useful for absolute beginners. When I began playing again with my local group—after 40 years away from the game—I was given 5 stones in my first game (of 9x9, which I had never even heard of 40+ years ago). I lost, making all the possible basic mistakes in that one game. We have introduced a couple of kids (early elementary school, maybe 7 or 8 years old) to go at the club, and similarly used 5 stones. Nothing scientific in this. Just a guess.

2 Likes

You just gave us a great idea for a tournament here.

As far as I’m aware no one is playing handicap on 9x9 except for the handicap of 1 because some feel komi should be less.

I played some auto handi games in the past and just now. Naturally, 9x9 handicap should be less in actual stones on the board [senseis]. On OGS I’d say it’s not unreasonable. I’m not sure how handicap calculation works but against 25k it gave them only 6 stones. But I feel like if your opponent is ~10k and you have to give them 2-3 stones it’s too hard because at that point players become too smart.