Is there a resource for explaining the scoring phase to beginners?

Of course there’s the FAQ section, but I feel that it’s not simplified enough for most total beginners to understand.

And I’m not sure making it even more detailed would fit the purpose of the FAQ.

Is there a resource, perhaps a thread here in the forum, that I can point beginners to when they get confused about the scoring phase?

1 Like

Yes.

No. :stuck_out_tongue:

I don’t know how others feel about this, but maybe it’s one of the things that would be easier to understand with a short video (screen capture)?

1 Like

…Do you know anyone who has the tools and the will to produce such a video? :laughing:

(keeping in mind that not everybody can access Youtube, by the way)

1 Like

Do you specifically mean the scoring phase and how to use the scoring interface on the OGS server? Or do you mean the scoring phase in a broader sense (like including how to properly score during a face-to-face game)?

1 Like

I was thinking something like a few seconds, like a long gif.

Where the mouse points etc

Our FAQ is a bit out-of-date, and not so accurate or detailed. However, it is a wiki, so that everyone can make edits to help improve it.

I mean on OGS, but for beginners it would have to be a resource that explains both things in a simplified manner – it doesn’t have to delve into the confusing details of scoring with Japanese rules, just some quick guidelines good enough for beginners – I’m asking because I’m not confident I could even produce a clear explanation of it myself, so it would be great to have a resource that people agree being simple enough for them.