Is there a video series for terrible beginners?

I’m a computer programmer and have been watching alpha go playing as I’m very interested in the AI but I still struggle to understand the game with the professional commentator after spending 8-10 hours reading the rules and trying go myself.

I have downloaded igowin ( the windows version ) and I can’t even beat that at 23 kyu, I keep thinking I have created an alive group and then suddenly white owns the board and my group is gone. This is on a 9x9 board with handicap stones.

I’m looking for something that shows how to play a 9x9, what moves are terrible, what moves are good. Ideally a computer program that slaps you on the wrist then goes back and shows you the proper move but I’d settle for a series of videos aimed at kids or something

Thanks a million in advance.

1 Like

Hey, welcome to the site. First off, we have our own tutorial, which you can find on the sidebar. There’s also a lot of resources on our resources page to help teach the game.

If you have unlimited time and energy, there’s pretty much nothing better than Nick Sibicky’s beginner classes on YouTube. Sort by “oldest” and play the videos in order where he teaches the class or just pick out interesting topics one by one.

For kid-focused material, I enjoy the understated cartooning of Andy & Serra on the BadukChannelAmerica YouTube channel.

7 Likes

Thanks, I think I grasp the basics of the game after going through a few tutorials, my problem is when you have a board in front of you I have no idea how the rules and examples translate into games. I’ll check out the videos, cheers

3 Likes

As another beginner, I know exactly what you mean. Here are four YouTube videos that I found helpful for playing 9x9.

7 Likes

Thanks a million!

You’re welcome :smiley: . I’ve also just posted a list of other resources for beginners, which you can find here: Free Resources for Beginners

5 Likes

I’d keep trying things with igowin.