Komi and the total number of moves to equalize

On one hand, I’m new to go, so forgive the naiveness. On the other hand, I’m not new to logical thinking, as I teach computer science, and then I like to find and learn about the reasoning behind games decisions.

Go is my new vacation project, to start the year and bring something new and fun to my students, to help them program computers. I always look for inspirations in games, and Go for sure is very inspirational, specially after alphago.

That intro is just to give context and to say hello to all, as this is my first post. Thanks for the wonderful website.

Now to the question: on the British GO rules ( https://www.britgo.org/files/rules/GoQuickRef.pdf ) you can see that White is obliged to be the last to pass so the game can end. (rule number 10: even if it means 3 pass in a row!).

This is to make the number of moves equal throughout the whole game.

Since KOMI is to compensate for black moving first, I wonder what is the point of it, since the total of moves are equal.

I know in chess White has a “initiative” for being first and here are the statistics for an amount of 600k professional games:

White wins   37.35%
Black wins   27.41%
Drawn        35.23%

That alone could be used to calculate how many points in chess White and Black would be fighting for, but they still ignore and use 1 for victory and 0.5 for draw (and of course 0 for losing).

I wonder if in Go we also couldn’t ignore KOMI? Also, I’m curious if there are statistics (for only games of strong professional players) to understand what is the percentage of win/lose for Black (playing first, opposed to chess) and White?

Thanks a lot for the kind discussion.

Dr. Bèco

7 Likes

Komi is to compensate for the first move advantage. Even when both players play an equal number of strategically meaningful moves, the first move advantage still remains. Just like in chess, having the initiative gives a significant advantage.