This text is bold.

Tiny
Small

Medium

Big

Bigger

Biggest

1 Like

Just edit the wiki. Found it in https://www.w3schools.com/html/html_formatting.asp

Have fun!

1 Like

If you are interested in taking things further, I do recommend mdn as an excellent learning recourse. As a professional web developer I use it almost every day—be it as a reference or when I need to learn something new.

As a starting point I recommend the article about HTML basics.

3 Likes

Note that on this forum, not all html works, only some formatting tags (such as <p>, <big>, <strong>, etc) work, and as far as I know attributes only work for providing the href in links and images:

• <a href="http://online-go.com/">link</a> becomes link.

Most regrettably, it’s not possible to add css to anything on the forum…

5 Likes

That’s definitely deliberate - allowing too much leads to security risks, because you can make things that look very convincingly like forum controls, but actually are not. Plus, sandboxing advanced formatting li e that to just the post can be tricky, and result in someone actually taking over the legitimate forum buttons.

5 Likes

Taking over the forum buttons will be difficult, though, you need more than just formatting to do that. MediaWiki allows styling of html objects, and does not have security problems.

3 Likes

I guess the limitations of Discourse are also for general stylistic reasons. Avoiding arbitrary fonts, colors, images that break out of the bounds of a single post, etc., were probably deliberate design considerations in order to keep the appearance of posts a bit more uniform and consistent with the format and expectations of a forum. However, for April Fools’ Day, I was tempted to request on meta.discourse.org for adding support for the <blink> tag.

@ginger2008, the formatting on this forum only supports a very limited subset of HTML, and most things can and should be most easily accomplished using Discourse’s specific dialect of Markdown.