[NEW PLAYER] Anyone tell me why computer is rejecting my games?

I’m brand new to this game. I’m trying to play against the computer on a 9x9 board and when I hit ‘Play’ (or ‘Create’ or whatever) it says “game offer rejected”

How can the computer reject my game offer? This is really holding me back from wanting to give this game a shot if it’s this difficult to simply create a game. Giant bar to entry.

All of the bots are independently hosted by users, not the server itself.

Please check the profile page for the specific bot you are trying to challenge as many of them have specific time, rank or board size restrictions.

1 Like

Hello, and welcome :slight_smile:
yeah the experience is still a little clunky with the robots :smiley:

if you don’t wanna click through all the profiles you should find most of the AI restrictions here: AI Game Restrictions
Or just play against humans :stuck_out_tongue:

Actually as a new player I would even recommend a few games against humans. Unlike robots we can quickly tell you the most basic mistakes and wrong approaches you are doing. There is a lot of people here happy to help out beginners (as others helped us…) do not be afraid to ask. Once you get the hang of things, you can practice your newly gained knowledge on robots :slight_smile: And there is also quite a few interesting go apps for android if you like that sort of things :slight_smile:

2 Likes

If you really want to play against a computer, try Cosumi (cosumi.net/en)

1 Like

In fact, I think it’s fair to say that OGS isn’t a place to come to try playing computers - there are plenty of apps you can download for that.

More, OGS is a place to play people (not entirely, but primarily)

GaJ

3 Likes