OGS Design Update

The overall design of OGS web page seems to be incompatible with modern web pages? Does anyone want to redesign it to make it more beautiful and easier to use?

BTW, I am a developer, so if anyone has a good design scheme, would you like to try to update the overall style of OGS together

3 Likes

The whole front end is open source on GitHub if you have any ideas you would like to sound board, that’s where you will likely get the best interaction. Though a post here too isn’t bad for ideas and discussion.

3 Likes

… though I think the “development” side of it is the easy bit.

… that’s the hard part :slight_smile:

6 Likes

Agreed :sweat_smile:

We’ll probably end up with worse design than we had like it often happens, e.g. reddit redesign.

4 Likes

New reddit is way better, people just complain about change. The idea that OGS needs a redesign is a very common one on the forums. Certainly some people won’t like it but that shouldn’t stop us from trying if/when someone qualified to help comes along.

2 Likes

After a comment like this, one usually explains one’s reasoning – why do you suppose this is the case?

I keep on hearing the opinion that OGS needs a redesign, with very little explanation.

2 Likes

I imagine that the reason why is because it was designed before modern web practices came into play.

Personally, I can’t see how a functional “app-like” site like OGS is amenable to the scrolly-bannery look of modern web pages - I’d be interested to see a similar “app-like” site that is done the modern web page way.

It’s difficult to put in words because almost every element of the site could be modernised in some way, and it’s complicated to wrap that all up succinctly, hence the dilemma of design being trickier than implementation.

2 Likes