OGS Puzzles: Workshop & Laboratory

Since a few months I have been adding puzzles to the OGS Puzzles tab. By doing so I learned a lot about this puzzle program. And I am still learning.

The Documentation and FAQ chapter on Puzzles is a good place if you are starting to use the puzzle program, but there is more.

This topic aims at providing a place where go players who are using this program can share their experiences, ask questions and learn from other’s solutions.

6 Likes

1 Like

There are a few things I wonder about;

• Why is player colour on the setup page?
    To me it seems more logical to have this option on the moves page, because with player colour you assign the colour of the first move of the puzzle solution (which is situated on the moves page).

• Player colour: is a one click colour switch not more conveniently than having to select black or white when you want to switch?

Some points about the Puzzle Program:

• it would come in handy if puzzle number also appears on the moves pages
    If you are entering a string of puzzles, sometimes you forget which one you are working on.
  • to me it feels logical to have the player colour on moves page.
  • category on the set up page: what can you do with it?
  • is it possible to make a setting for a complete collection?
    For example the difficulty is usually 12 k. And if you have to change that every time you create a new puzzle … sigh.
  • is it possible to change permanently the number of collections presented on the my puzzles-page?
    Standard is 10, but 25 and 50 are also possible (but if you change it, it will revert to 10 again if you leave thge page).
  • it seems to me that searching for specific puzzle author is not possible. That is a pity because if you find a nice collection you might also be interested in other collection posted by that puzzle author.

Not complaing, discovered some work arounds.

3 Likes

Is it possible to merge different puzzle collections?
And if so, how?

1 Like