Pass or resign

I just finished a 9x9 game and was wondering if black should have resigned instead of passed as he did. When black passed, I passed also, the scoring system was okay concerning points, but I had a kind of feeling that resign might have been more correct.
On the other hand, I think black couldn’t make any living shape, so could you argue that the borders were closed?
So is was it 100% clear that pass was the right choice, or would resign have been more correct. Might there be a grey zone between pass and resign?
Here’s the game:
9x9 game pass or resign?

White is 25k. I’d plead ignorance. As long as he accepted the score without too much trouble I wouldn’t worry about it.

6 Likes

Hello, I was the black one in this game. As you can see from my rating, I am new to this game and I had no idea what is the difference between pass and resign. I think GO is just a game like chess or bridge and I am enjoying it. Feel free to call me ignorant. The ethics of this game are standoffish for newcomers. While playing my first games, the last thing to think about is if I should pass or resign. Games are for fun. Computer games are for ignorant fun.

13 Likes

Passing or resigning doesn’t matter that much, resigning is just to end the game faster when you are sure you can’t win.

Although it is courtesy to resign when you have lost you are not obligated to do so you are free to play to the endgame and pass once you believe there to be no more moves.

8 Likes

Players in the high kyu and some dans don’t resign.

6 Likes

Hello @ando.viispert, and welcome!

Ando, I’m totally sure that the word “ignorance” was used in its most basic meaning: “not knowing” (rather than todays usual interpretation as “deliberately ignoring”), not meant to offend you but rather to defend you.

Mh… I think I disagree … in my experience the game is very welcoming towards newbies, which IMO can also be seen in the system of handicap stones.