Questions about amateur kyu levels

Now that I know some of the basic facts of the Go world, I understand that levels of player are judged in a way that 10kyu player can give 9kyu player one handicap stone (with 0.5 komi) and play evenly; 10kyu player can give 8kyu two handicap stones, so on and so forth. Obviously this should be based on long time accumulated playing and when the strength of player stabilized.

That said, I am wondering why amateur level starts at 30kyu and tops out at 7dan? That’s a very wide range and that means the top level amateur can give an absolute beginner 37-stone handicap game but not 40 stones? Also I realized the kyu and dan system were there before the internet and various go servers. So back in the day, basically one would play against a certain level player (say 1dan) and decide his/her skill level is about 3 stones behind so he/she is roughly 3kyu?

Nowadays, thanks to internet and OGS, I can play against people all over the world. My essential question is how should I judge my “real world Go skill” based on my ratings and rankings from thousands of games played on OGS? If I eventually settled on 3kyu on OGS, does that I am 3kyu level in traditional amateur Go world sense or if there’s a difference how much better or worse am I?

Many thanks for your response.

2 Likes

Rankings are a way to decide on standing within a particular population.

Every server has a population that is largely (albeit not completely) independent from that of other servers, i.e. different people frequent, say, mainly IGS or mainly OGS, or only Fox, etc.

Everytime you enter a new population of players, you have to work out your relative standing, because ranks are by definition relational. There is nothing intrinsically “3 kyu” about being 3k on any given server.

Long story short: you will have to play other people with a more or less established rank among the population in question to find out where you fit in.

3 Likes