Surprising False Eyes

I was playing a game yesterday that ended in a way I had only ever dreamed about. My group in the lower left is dead, even though it has (Edit: appears to have) two eyes!

Under some definitions, the space on the lower left isn’t actually an eye because not every intersection is a liberty of my group. But I’ve been playing go for 10 years and haven’t seen something like this in a game until now! Does anyone else know of an example of this happening?

2 Likes

not everything that looks like an eye is the eye.

2 Likes

Your group has only one eye and 2 iberties. Black can win the capture race (b3 and then e1)

2 Likes

I understand that white loses the capturing race, but aside from a mathematical (and from what I can tell uncommon) definition, shouldn’t the space on the left be generally considered an eye? Surely that’s what I’d call it if black’s stones were missing

1 Like

An eye is considered an eye only if it gives the group at least one liberty that can never be occupied by the other player

7 Likes

Ohh that makes sense! Maybe I should rename this discussion to “surprising false eyes” in that case. Thanks for the clarification!

3 Likes

But they aren’t missing. And (though irrelevant here) black can even build a living group in there. And that situation: - I’d have an eye there if only the opponent wouldn’t have built a living group in there - is not that unusual.

In spite of all that - I have seen close capturing races involving eyes in my games, but probably none in such a small space. And my intuition could have mis-lead me too. So I clearly can understand your fascination, :slight_smile:

1 Like

I’ve been playing go for 17 years and would never have considered that space with a black group inside the white group an eye, false or not. I have seen plenty of groups die from the opponent filling liberties from a big space inside, but the words to describe that would be “black invaded the corner which wasn’t safe yet and killed me”.