Understanding the Ratings Numbers

I’m pretty new to the game and trying to learn. I don’t understand the information presented on the profile page. I think I understand the 25k raking I have now. But the ratings numbers are a mystery to me. Currently mine says 962 ± 87 and on 9x9 it says 1126±86 and under the live category (which is the only kind I’ve played so far) it has similar numbers. Could someone help me understand what those mean?
Also, I searched the FAQs and didn’t see this posted and used the search feature but didn’t find an answer. Thanks for the help.

3 Likes

This didn’t help? https://github.com/online-go/online-go.com/wiki/Getting-Started-|-Creating-and-Adjusting-Your-Account#your-rating

It’s called Glicko-2. Basically, a higher number is better (in contrast to the kyu system, where a lower number is better)

Ok, so, on a user’s profile, the red box is your rank - that’s the big one to pay attention to. The green box is your overall rating, which is the number of Glicko-2 points (also called rating points) you have, plus or minus the uncertainty. On mine, that means the system thinks I’m probably somewhere between 1529 and 1729. The more you play, and the more consistent your wins/losses become, the narrower that range will become. However, it’s not really important in the end. The big one really is your rank. Note that if you click on this, it has a plus/minus value as well, representing the uncertainty of your rank.