Very naif question: do you count your points during game?

Playing on a computer it’s great because I can see at any moment how many points each player has.
But on a real physical 19x19 board, that seems a daunting task to me.
And sometimes the point difference is small.

What do players do? They look rather at the big picture? or keep track every move? or in the end is strategy+chance that makes you win?
Or maybe it’s me that I’m slow in counting because I’m a beginner?

4 Likes

Counting is extremely useful, especially in the late middle game I think.

I am fairly slow at counting. Even worse: I can’t remember partial counts at all. Being able to keep those in mind would enable me to quickly update a count after a few moves. (Like: top right was 15 points for me, top left 20 for the opponent, hasn’t changed, all that has changed is lower half, so I’ll only count that now.) That would ne nice.

I guess one could specifically train counting quickly and also keeping the counts im memory. So far I couldn’t bring myself to do that. Other ways to improve just are more fun (to me). :slight_smile:

5 Likes

I’ll be honest here, I rarely try to count the board – sometimes I can be winning or losing by as much as thirty points and not notice. Typically I just eyeball it.

Counting is a very good habit to get into, though.

4 Likes

Only when I feel that the fightier sequence is too much of an overplay, so I count whether I really need to get into it. So only a few times a game.

2 Likes

:joy:

2 Likes

I almost never count. But when I do “count”, I only estimate roughly. Usually on the opponent’s turn if he thinks long enough. Maybe once or twice during a game. Right before a big decision to know whether I’m supposed to calmly defend or be more aggressive. And also in the endgame if I see a potential yet unlikely problem in my formation I may count and only defend it if I can easily afford to lose a point (by playing inside my area).