WT:social, A Social Network Focused on Facts + Collaboration

Good day,

WT:social is a new social network, created by Jimmy Wales (of Wikipedia fame), focused on news and collaboration.

I’ve created a group there, “Baduk (Go, Weiqi), The Strategic Board Game”, please click the link below if you want to join.
NOTE: It’s all still rudimentary there, and I don’t know whether you’ll immediately be able to join (i.e. bypass the long waiting list).

—> https://wt.social/gi/thomas-rohde/baduk-go-weiqi-the-strategic-board-game/82am

I’ve already added a few Go-related posts, which, as I understand, are editable by everybody—or perhaps only by members of the group? I’m not sure, as I’m also new to it. But I thought it’s good to be there early and create some topic-specific content.

From the front page (only visible when not logged in):

Welcome to WT:Social

As social networks have grown, they’ve also amplified the voices of bad actors across the globe. Fake news has influenced global events, and algorithms care only about “engagement”, and keeping people addicted to platforms without substance.

WikiTribune wants to be different.

We will never sell your data. Our platform survives on the generosity of individual donors to ensure privacy is protected and your social space is ad-free.

We will empower you to make your own choices about what content you are served, and to directly edit misleading headlines, or flag problem posts.

We will foster an environment where bad actors are removed because it is right, not because it suddenly affects our bottom-line.

But this will only work with your help. So join today and help change the landscape of social media.

<edit>
BTW, the Sub-Wiki for Baduk is here: https://wt.social/wt/baduk-go-weiqi-the-strategic-board-game

</edit>

1 Like

“You are number 12377 on the waiting list”

… ok. I’ll check back in a year :slight_smile:

2 Likes

LOL, that’s why I posted the invitation link—yesterday I was 6-thousand-something :wink: