A Program/Book that gives a foundation of the game

Hi guys I am a beginner. I know basic rules of the game. I have a competitive chess background and can see this game is far more complicated. In Chess there are courses(ChessMaster Program, How to Reassess your Chess, etc…) that give the player a foundation and introduce the main topics of the game. I was wondering if something like that existed for Go. I play games and like to do Life and Death problems. However playing, I can see I lack information to come up with a move and find myself trying to survive or fight with calculation. Im sure what im saying is super noobish please bear with me. Reading online, people say you just have to play alot and go from there. Im doing that and can see patterns building up. However I feel im being inefficient with my time and could be doing alot more if someone pointed me in the right direction. Im really looking for a system/guide that can teach me how to Really play Go. Thanks to those who reply!

1 Like

You are right that just doing problems won’t do (or at least, it’s hard to find a full workout that trains every skill) and that playing can cause only slow improvement sometimes. Compared with Chess, it’s much easier to get trapped into only playing people of your level, which at the beginner level (anything from 25k up to 12k or so is your level as a beginner) is sure to teach you some very bad patterns and bad habits that will be hard to get around, especially if you don’t review your games.