Absolute newbie here. I have a lotta troubles with 9×9

I have a lot of trouble playing on 9×9. I honestly don’t know why. Aside from my welp… Skill issues, I can’t seem to play a game on 9×9 that doesn’t either end with me being boxed up and losing due to territory or making risky moves that don’t pay off. 9×9 somehow feels more foreign to me than 19×19 weirdly enough. Am I missing something? Does 9×9 not abide by opening theory of Corner, Side, Center? Am I just playing stupid? Am I doing something wrong that’s making me slow to develop hence why I get boxed up most of the time?

(Also just a quick P.S:

I’m unfamiliar if this should be in teaching or support category so I’ll just take the safe bet. If it doesn’t belong just mention so I can change it)

4 Likes

Play on 19x19 then.

This might be an important insight. There are basically no sides or centre on 9x9.

See

4 Likes

Not really. 9x9 is basically only corners and then endgame.

3 Likes

Yeah valid point but I’m trying to get used to unfamiliar things and understand why I’m so shit at 9×9, hence why I play it a lot.

1 Like

Maybe give us a game link then, more easy to give you a bit of advices.

For the distance from the edge, starting from the first or second line is same as on 19x19, not the best to accumulate space. Now the board is small and all can become tense quickly. A bad move well answered and game over. Basically still you have the same questions to investigate as on a big board. Does it cut? Am I connected? Who will capture first?

3 Likes

The strategic concepts of corners, sides, and center still apply to 9x9, just on a more compact scale. These areas have different strategic values and tendencies though.