Building a Go Board

Hey there! I am going to make an attempt to create a board from scratch in the next few weeks. I want it to be a standard dimension and about 6 inches thick with little legs like on “traditional” boards. Does anyone experienced have any personal suggestions or recommended online tutorials. Much help would be appreciated. :grinning:

Thanks,
Mr. GoBoard

8 Likes

Sensei’s Library has a page dedicated to making gobans.

Also, last year @Skurj shared how he built a goban / storage container.

6 Likes

What materials do you have in mind, how much experience do you have building with wood, and what kind of tools do you have access to?

4 Likes

The bad news is that I am a beginner, with very limited experience. The good news is that I want this to be a high school woodworking project, and my classroom has great resources: planers, jointers, table saws, band saws, router tables, drill presses and many other things. So I believe there should not be a problem with equipment. As far as wood goes it depends on what I can afford. Preferably something not too expensive. We have many different kinds of wood but I can say that bamboo and kaya are probably not on that list. My instructor is very experienced and could help me to a certain extent, but I want to keep this project as simple as I can being that I am a beginner. Hope this helps. :grinning:

4 Likes

Absolutely. I think you’ve got enough of the right ingredients to make this work. I will be happy to walk you through the process and discuss options to make sure you get what you want and perhaps avoid some pitfalls.

For starters, let’s talk construction. Do you want it to be a solid block of wood? Or would you be ok if the box was hollow? My personal board is 13 inches thick, but hollow with a friction fit lid so I can store all my books and stuff inside

5 Likes