Can i play somewhere and get a win now and then?

Hello, I come from the world of chess (15 years) and find Go interesting. But it seems to be so extremely difficult that really chess seems like a piece of cake compared to Go. When i started learning chess i was mostly losing but occasionally did some wins. Of course i don’t mind losing especially when i learn a new game but this thing becomes really annoying with Go. Is there some software where i can choose the difficulty to 0 in order to start playing and learning? Although in the past i was playing on the phone with the difficulty at 0 and didn’t manage to do a win. Or some really noobies like me we who i can play? Thanks.

1 Like

Create a custom game and select the “Restrict Rank” option. Set the maximum rank to something like 22 Kyu and you should start winning some games.

On a PC I know of none. And I think it is kind of lacking to be honest :smiley: I have been playing for almost 2 years and Leela just crushes me almost every time on even the lowest settings. Understandably they are all striving for the best performance, not the friendliest.

On an android there are several apps that I feel are beginner friendly. “CS lite” (crazy stone lite) and “Go Free” both seem to have lowest settings quite close to 25 kyu, which should be at least playable for you.

Other than that, my only recommendation is try not to get discuraged. There seem to be a sort of a “bump” for many players, where you just can’t win in the beginning (which actually makes sense given how long the learning curve is), but suddenly after some times, you should get over it, and get to the 50-50 ratio, that you will get for the rest of your life :smiley: :stuck_out_tongue:

And yes, as Opuss mentioned, choosing the right opponent is also a big part.
Good luck :slight_smile:

2 Likes

Thanks, i did as you suggest and got some good result :slight_smile: I had already set at “automatch settings” the “opponent rank range: -9 0”.