How to record yourself playing in a tournament

I’ve seen various discussions about recording yourself for anti cheating reasons in online live tournaments. There is a thread about the rights and wrongs of it here:

But my question is, in practical terms how do you do it? What is the set up you need? And how do you send the resulting video?

I’m not incompetent but I’m not that technical. I can’t see how I would make a 2-hour uncut video and transmit it to someone. How is it done?

Say I use a desktop to play on. Is it a matter of enabling the webcam to record? I have a camera but it will only record for about 20 mins before stopping. I have a phone but I doubt I could record for that long with it without it stopping (memory is a constant struggle).

I must be missing something obvious as this recording yourself business is generally made to sound quite easy but I’m baffled! Thank you

6 Likes

A webcam + OBS studio work fine for me.

I guess there are easier solutions like https://www.cam-recorder.com/ but I didn’t try them.

1 Like

I ended up buying a mini tripod for my phone. It was a struggle the whole time, the battery doesn’t last for a whole game so that killed the recording in endgame (byo-yomi too) the first time. Space is a struggle on the phone also, and even setting to a lower resolution didn’t help that much.

Even more of a struggle to get the video off of the phone quickly either with cloud storage or otherwise in between rounds.

It probably would be better to use something like an external webcam that you could place behind, and some screen recording, either Skype or zoom or something was supposed to have a feature like that, or obs I suppose.

4 Likes

The optimal solution should use a not expensive phone and as less as possible more material so that most people can make it.

Besides i hope that tournaments management and federations who prone the use of video recording give us the cheapest and efficient way to do it afterall.