Long Game vs Correspondence

Hello, I am pretty new to Go and I have only played a few games on OGS. I apologize if I am not utilizing the forum correctly but I have a quick question: What is the difference between the “long games” and the correspondence” games?

I understand the difference between a “short game” and a “long game” as a “short game” is essentially live and a “long game” gives each player days to complete their move. But what are the “correspondence” games that involve multiple player?

How do the OGS “correspondence” games work? Does everyone make a move and the most popular one is used? Or does each player get their own turn? I am confused because I can’t seem to find this information on line since every time I look up “correspondence” it just describes something more like a one-on-one “long game”.

2 Likes

A “long game” is synonymous with “correspondence game”. It broadly means a game that may last days or weeks (and sometimes even months or years), depending on the specific time settings and the pace of the players. The game does not have to all be played at once, and instead of a player might only make a few (or one or zero) moves per day, depending on what the time settings allow.

“Short games” are also synonymous with “Live Games” and “Blitz” just refers to the very fastest of “Live Games”. We should probably be more consistent in the interface design about how we use these terms.

On the play page, the group of open games are divided into normal (two-player) games under the heading “Custom Games”, and “Rengo” (where each color is controlled by a team of players). I guess the source of confusion is that “Correspondence” appears only under the Rengo heading, while “Long” is used for the normal (one-on-one) games.

In a Rengo game, the players on each turn rotate on who gets to play. For example, if there is a Rengo game involve Alice and Bob on Team Black, while Charlie and Dave are on Team White, the move order would go like: