Using leela zero to estimate win probability of a board

like the guy in this thread did

just exactly how / where do you do it?

do i have to first install leela on my own computer and then install the interface Lizzie?

or is there web site where i can just upload the sgf file?

can i just d/l from this page?
https://sjeng.org/leela.html

2 Likes

If you know about Lizzie already, she has Leela already built into her as well as analysis option.

The link you provided is for her older sister, who was trained on human games and is inferior to Leela Zero which ships with Lizzie and is modelled after AlphaGo Zero (entirely self taught).

You can find the latest release of Lizzie at Releases · featurecat/lizzie · GitHub

Running a release

Just follow the instructions in the provided readme in the release.

The first run may take a while because Leela Zero needs to set up the OpenCL tunings and download the latest network if it is not present. Just hang tight, and wait for it to finish, then you will see Leela Zero’s analysis displayed on the board.

The readme file will also give instructions on how to load an sgf that is saved on your computer and how to have Lizzie automatically analyse the game (this too may take a while if you don’t have a powerful graphics card).

2 Likes

thanks.

so i will have to install Lizzie on my computer after all. there is no web site that i can just upload the sgf file?

There used to be http://rosystein.com/ but they had to close the site due to financial difficulty. I’m not aware of there being any others, but I highly doubt they’d be both free and high quality.

1 Like

Not surprising, considering the computing power needed to run an analysis. I don’t know the specs, but don’t use a low-end machine for that.

that’s exactly my problem :joy: