The OGS ranking system is very strange, should maybe be re-thought (discussion)

I like OGS and I am a site supporter but the following few things kind of irk me and I wonder why they are the way they are:

1. Different board sizes should not blend into an overall average rank. Earlier when I started playing Go, I played on 9x9 and 13x13 which influences my 19x19 rank. Ranked games should just be 19x19 otherwise you can get matched with someone in a 19x19 game that is super over or under ranked from using the smaller boards which leads to odd pairings for ranked games.

2. Different time settings should not blend into an average rank. Blitz should have it’s own ranking system, live should have it’s own ranking system and correspondence should have it’s own ranking system. I play correspondence on the site ladder and this rank is higher than my live ranking as I have more time to read…which leads to harder live games because my rank is reported higher on live than it should be because the blended rank is used to pair up games.

3. Ranked games should have set settings. It’s too easy to game the ranking system with any weird time settings you want or weird handicap. Pandanet does a great job at this, all ranked games are under certain time settings and certain pre-determined handicaps.

4. You should not be able to play bots in ranked games. Period. It’s way too easy to game the system playing a bot.

5. New players that are unranked should either get to declare a rank and then play games to reach a new calibration or they should just only be allowed to play bots until a rank is determined for them. Bot play would only be for unranked games and ranking “?” players. Way too many times are new players with a “?” getting treated as 12kyus when they are 20kyus. This discourages a ton of beginners that could be great future go players.