Glicko-2 does not require accounts to start at 12 kyu. So why do we do that?

This topic is in response to yet another new topic in which a beginner is complaining about getting trashed by much stronger opponents and the OGS advice is to just take a few beatings to establish a rank. :pensive:

OGS uses the Glicko-2 rating system. This has advantages of stability, speed of response, etc. However, as has been noted multiple times on this forum, this has the restriction that new accounts start at 12 kyu, which in turn leads to the situation of beginners getting matched against much stronger players until their rank is established.

But this is actually not true! :grin:

Look what the Glicko-2 algorithm has to say about starting values:

So the new accounts on 12 kyu (rating of 1500) comes from that. Except new accounts are not necessarily unrated! If someone is an absolute beginner, they are ranked 30 kyu (and have the corresponding rating). If some one knows their rank from another system, then they have a rating. The only players that are truly unrated are those who are not beginners but who also don’t know their level (maybe they have been playing casual games IRL with unranked players for a while but never played within any rated system). Therefore, it should be possible to allow new accounts to declare their rank (if known), declare themselves as a beginner (i.e. 30 kyu) or just accept the default (i.e. 12 kyu, no change from current system). Deviation and volatility can just take default initial values. Any incorrect declaration should sort it self out within a few games, same as current system. Difference is, at least beginners (and strong players too actually) will have fairer match ups during initial period while deviation is reduced. :sunglasses: