Make quick matches the primary way of finding matches

The quick match finder takes ages, and it feels like it serves little purpose, at least for me as a 15kyu. Most games I pick up through the custom games list. However, there are so many variations of time settings, handicaps, komi, rules, etc. possible that it ‘skews’ the rank in a way. For example, correspondence games often feature analysis, score estimation, and other such tools, which helps me a lot because I’m not that good at reading. But it’s ‘unfair’ for those ignoring those options or are less patient than me at testing all possible variations.

Seems to me it would be fruitful to focus on the quick match finder as the primary way to find games, and have preset types of games. The ranking reflects this already with 9x9, 13x13, 19x19, fast, slow, correspondence. Is it desirable to have only quick match presets count for rank? You could select chinese/japanese ruleset (or both), board size (like now), and fast, slow, correspondence (like now). Then analysis and such tools are disabled. A bonus is that you would have little choice if you play someone better or worse than you.

Then, custom games would be for teaching, variations, practice, tournaments, handicaps, and such, but without ranking. Tournaments could also of course use the presets.

Is it desirable to focus on the quick match finder? Why or why not?

3 Likes

I don’t know about the specifics of the implementation, and I don’t want to debate about which preset settings should be the default for such games.

However I have heard/read this a good bit recently, that the community/matchmaking is somewhat split and feels that way between custom game list and automatch, and naturally splitting the pool of players up makes getting a game harder (with specific settings) in one or the other or both.